Interpretive Trail

6 Stops

The Jane Brook trail is a short walk following a flat, even pathway exploring the recreation area in John Forrest National Park. This trail is suitable for wheelchair users and prams and provides an opportunity to walk around the dam visiting two (2) fairy huts along the way.

Jane Brook was named after Jane Eliza Currie, who was one of the first European settlers here in 1829. Jane was a landscape artist whose surviving paintings capture a record of the development of the Swan River Settlement.

John Forrest National Park was opened in 1900, with the first recreation facilities constructed in the early 1930s by sustenance workers (unemployed men engaged to work on public projects).

Follow the pathway to explore the beautiful natural landscapes, and parts of the original recreation area, including limestone stairways and structures created many years ago.

Start Tour